Welcome to my blog

I often read statements by photographers that they take landscape photographs because they want to show the natural beauty of wild places to the world and that through their work these places will be appreciated and preserved. Though I imagine that my desire to preserve what little wildness we have is as much as theirs, that is not the reason I take photographs.

The reality is that I really don’t know why I take photographs except that I love doing it and I love the challenge to take something I see and to try make it into a beautiful image. Photography consists of two challenges for me. The first is taking something that moves me and taking that three dimensional, boundless experience of just being there and trying to convert it to something two dimensional with fixed borders that carries some of the experience that I had when I was there.

The second challenge is taking that transparency, negative or digital image and making a print that hopefully will move you in the same way it moves me.

One last thing.  I’m dyslexic.  Besides reversing phone numbers and occasionally forgetting my left from right, I’m an awful speller.  I use spell checking and more importantly I have my brilliant wife check my posts.  However I’m sure that a misspelled or wrong word will sometimes slip in.  I apologize if it causes you offense.  I’m spelling disabled.  Please feel free to alert me to the error and I’ll correct it.

~ by danbaumbach on June 21, 2008.

7 Responses to “Welcome to my blog”

  1. Oh, so nice to find this dan. All the best to you with the new blog.
    May be you should see this movie – with English subtitles of course.http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0986264/ (guess there is a US version coming out on DVD sometime soon)

  2. Thanks, Prashant. There is an English version of Taare Zameen Par, but it’s not released on DVD yet. Do you know what Netflix is? I put it on my Netflix list.

    – Dan.

  3. really interesting bog and website. Keep taking those pictures

  4. Очень полезно

  5. Спасибо

  6. I just discovered your blog today and read every post. Your work and your writing is fascinating. The fact that you find and capture so much beauty in trees blows me away. I’ve tried countless times to try capture the beauty of a trees and eventually realized, I can’t.

    Thanks for the inspiration and for causing me to “feel”.

    John Reid

Leave a Reply

 
