Moving On

It was seeing the work of Galen Rowell and reading his columns that got me wanting to photograph nature. Naturally I tried to shoot like Galen with many wide-angle near/far compositions, using ND grads to bring in brightly lit areas and hold the shadows. Unlike Galen, I didn’t have a lot of opportunities to shoot in the mountains. However, some Pacific Ocean beaches were as close to me as a half-hour drive, and many more distant ones could still be reached for a shoot. So, I took a lot of sunrise and sunset seascape images.

At some point I was finished. It wasn’t a realization, but rather the answer to a question posed by a photographer friend, Why don’t I shoot some more seascapes? What came out of my mouth was, I felt I’ve accomplished what I wanted to with the beaches near to me. I still feel that way, and I’ve had no desire to shoot any seascapes since. There were certain near/far problems that I was trying to solve, and I feel that I’ve solved them to my satisfaction. Recently I tried shooting again at Muir Beach just to see if I could get excited again, and came home empty-handed. If I should find myself at a new and different location, say Salt Point or some other interesting beach, who knows how I’ll feel.

This photo is one of the last images I took at Muir Beach and is probably my favorite of all my seascapes.

Now I mainly photograph trees and occasionally mountains. I’m still endlessly fascinated with trying to capture certain trees. With many of them exhibiting new spring leaves, I’m on the lookout for something fresh.

I do fear that I’ll just continue to repeat myself, and end up taking the same photograph over and over. I have no idea if I’m doing that. Only time will tell.

~ by danbaumbach on March 26, 2009.

5 Responses to “Moving On”

  1. Hi Dan. I enjoy reading your thoughts here on this blog. Interesting to learn about your photographic endeavors and adventures over the years. Your seascapes are indeed very beautiful and I always found them to look “different” in a very, very positive way. Interesting to learn that you think you are “done” with them. Maybe you are right – they are extremely beautiful and maybe you cannot “top” it. There’s also only one “Four Seasons” by Vivaldi while his other Violin concertos are not as known and appreciated – for a reason.

  2. Thanks Dietrich. Salt Point is probably a couple of hours drive from me. I hope to be able to spend some time there and see if I can come up with something. We’ll see.

    – Dan.

  3. Wow! This an amazing image! So moving and atmospheric!

  4. I’ve been going through your posts. Great reads.

    What you’ve written here is especially true. Too many get caught up in the “grand’ landscapes, the exotic and faraway places.

    The best landscapes are close to home, where you can do them the justice they deserve by seeing them every day in every light.

    • Thank you Dan. I don’t have much time tonight but I like what I’ve seen on your web page very much. I’ll have to return to it and check out your blog when I have more time.

      – Dan.

Leave a Reply

 
