Chaos Theory

It’s spring and trees are showing new leaves. Wild irises are popping up; and Scotch broom, a non-native, invasive plant with yellow flowers that are quite beautiful, is everywhere. The scene is essentially chaotic. There are trees pointing every which way — some live, some dead. The remains of dead trees are found all over the new green grass, and yellow flowers sometimes as high as me are growing in and out of everywhere. Standing there and reveling in it is very blissful. I love wandering these hills in spring.

But, oh if I could only capture it into a photograph… I make a cropping frame with both hands over one eye close the other eye to visualize the scene as a photograph. All of a sudden this melodic symphony of life and death and life again becomes this flat chaotic atonal noise. On top of that, every scene includes so much sky. In photographs, that will turn out mostly white and will be very distracting. I drop my hands and open both eyes and the symphony still surrounds me. What to do?

All the pros and art teachers say to simplify. Instead of 10 trees and lots of flowers, it’s best to shoot one tree and a few flowers. That’s doable, but I want to capture and present to you a symphony, not a string quartet.

I took the image presented here a couple of springs ago. So far, this is the best I could get of this beautiful chaos. Hopefully I’ll be more successful this year.

~ by danbaumbach on April 8, 2009.

8 Responses to “Chaos Theory”

  1. This is beautiful, Dan, and I don’t recall seeing it before. Interesting between a symphony and the presentation of a chaotic scene in a photograph.

  2. Thanks Laurent. I’m looking forward to seeing some new work on your blog.

    – Dan.

  3. I’m hearing the symphony loud and clear and it is beautiful.

  4. Thanks Ron.

    – Dan.

  5. Hi Dan: your words are as powerful and effective as your photographs.

    Beautiful symphony, btw.

  6. Thank you Michael. I know you give compliments lightly so this means a lot to me.

    – Dan.

  7. One of my favorites of yours Dan. Enjoyed hearing your thoughts on this particular composition predicament.

  8. Thanks, Andrew.

    – Dan.

Leave a Reply

 
