Fog and Sun

I got into the habit of taking early morning walks through the hills west of where I live a few years ago. It’s a wonderful way to start the day, particularly when most of that day is spent sitting in front of a computer. When I would see something that caught my eye with the possibility of making a photograph, I would come back with my 4×5 whenever I deemed the light was right. I’m still shooting 4×5, but as I get broker and broker, I can’t justify the increasing expense of it. Increasing expense, because as the labs to process the film get fewer and fewer, their prices get higher and higher.

I’ve gotten into the habit of carrying my D300 with me every morning. It has a wonderful setting where I can delay the shutter a few seconds after I release it so I get automatic mirror lockup and I don’t need to carry a cable release. If something catches my fancy, I just shoot it. It the light is weird, I just bracket a lot and see if I can make it work in Photoshop. Most of the time I come back empty handed, but It’s fun to play with this and it doesn’t cost me anything.

This morning the light was particularly interesting because we had fog rolling in from the west while we had the sun burning through the fog in the east.

With 4×5, I would have shot this with a soft grad, but I just bracketed exposures with the D300 and merged them in Photoshop HDR.

I should have a batch of 4×5 film coming back from the lab later this week. I hope I got something.

~ by danbaumbach on December 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “Fog and Sun”

  1. Really really nice!

Leave a Reply

 
