Boulder II

For the last 15 years I’ve lived in a little town where I could walk to the market or a movie. Our street is so small that the movers have to pick our things up in a small truck and then re-pack it in a semi so they can be moved to Boulder.

I grew up in New York City. I’m comfortable in cities, but I have no love for living in them. Boulder is a city. It’s too big, crowded and noisy for my taste. But, it does have some redeeming values…

The above photograph is of a local hill called Red Rocks. It’s only a 15 minute drive from where I live. It’s thrilling to wake up in the morning, knowing I’m going to be hiking in the mountains before going to work. There are so many amazing places here that are just a short drive from my home.

I work about 20 miles southeast of Boulder. When I drive home on the freeway I not only see the front range, but behind them I can see the snow capped peaks of the continental divide. What a view to drive home to. Sometimes when there’s interesting weather, the sunsets are amazing. I still haven’t found a good location for sunsets, but it’s great seeing them as I’m driving home.

I’m still in the wide-eyed stage of taking photographs here. I don’t know if I’m able to transmit anything of the depth that comes from really knowing and appreciating a place. I like to walk around the formation in the above photograph. It is so fascinating to me, but I have no clue of how to photograph it. Oh, but what a joy to keep trying.

~ by danbaumbach on March 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Boulder II”

  1. Dan,
    You are going to love Colorado. While California has much to offer photographically, unfortunately the state has so many problems ( taxes etc) that we didn’t even consider moving back when we returned to the west coast a number of years ago.
    I also will bet that your already great work will move to a new level.
    Please let me know if you ever get to Oregon!
    JG

    • Thanks Jack. I just flew back to CA and drove back here with my wife. We took I 70. I already have a number of locations just off the freeway that I want to get back to.

Leave a Reply

 
