I’m the Luckiest Man in the World

I leave my house just after 6:30 this morning. Sunrise is about 7:07 and the sky is just beginning to get light. I see that there are interesting clouds in the west, over the Flatirons. That’s been rare. We’ve had amazing sunrises in the east with usually clear skies to the west, and I’ve had trouble finding foregrounds to go with the sunrises.

But, with some interesting clouds over the mountains, I may have some luck, so I choose to take my morning hike on the Eldorado Mountain trail.

It’s about a 20 minute drive from my home and when I get there the sky is looking interesting. It’s 27 degrees outside, but I’m dressed warm and I’m excited to see what I can find.

There are some nice pink clouds over the mountains, but it’s hard finding an interesting composition. I keep shooting and trying different things. As I’m about to move on, I notice these beautiful blue and pink streaks behind a grove of pines. There’s no way I can capture this in one exposure so I bracket the shot and pray that what I get looks half as good as it looks to my eye.

I continue up the trail enjoying the brisk morning. I notice a herd of deer to my left. They’re way too far get any closeups, but I try some different compositions with the deer and the pines. My memory card is large, so if something catches my eye I just play with it and see what I can come up with.

I reach the beginning of a pine forest where the edges of it have seen a fire, and there are a number of burnt trees. I always want to spend more time here, but it’s time to turn back and head to work.

On the way back to my car, I look around at the beauty that surrounds me and I’m just floored. I feel so lucky and blessed to be able to live here and to be able to make a living just a half hour away. I am filled with such joy, I can die at this moment and I would be fine.

The sun continues to rise and now I’m noticing the interesting grasses by the side of the trail. I try some different compositions before putting my gear away and going to work.

I know these feelings of joy will pass and be replaced by feelings of frustration, anger, fear…; but those feelings will pass too, like the changing seasons. I’m just so happy that circumstances have brought me to such a beautiful place and I have the time and means to wander around it and photograph it.

I’m the luckiest man in the world.

~ by danbaumbach on December 10, 2010.

4 Responses to “I’m the Luckiest Man in the World”

  1. You are lucky, Dan, and so are we for having artists like you who can share the beauty you experience.

    Guy

  2. You are lucky! What a wonderful morning hike. Through this post I feel like I was there walking with you seeing the clouds, the deer herd, the grasses. So beautiful…

Leave a Reply

 
