Colorado Skies

The sunrises here on the Colorado front range are amazing. I have never seen patterns and colors in the sky like I have here. I used to photograph a lot of sunrises, either at the pacific ocean or in the Sierras. My images followed what unfortunately has become a pretty standard format. They were shot with wide-angle lenses and the colored sky was there usually as a pretty backdrop for a mountain or seascape. I no longer seek to make those kinds of images.

Instead, I’ve been making images where the sky is the dominant part of the photograph. What foreground there is, is there to complete the composition.

I’ve added a new gallery to my webpage, Colorado Skies, and I’ll be adding new images to it regularly. Regularly at least for the next month or so. The best skies are in the winter. Here is a link to Colorado Skies.

~ by danbaumbach on December 27, 2011.

One Response to “Colorado Skies”

  1. Lovely photographs, Dan!

    Forgotten is the fact that no matter how much knowledge, sophisticated and complicated techniques one has gathered, time and experience are still the essentials behind meaningful artwork. These photographs are fine examples of just that. 🙂

    Very much looking forward to follow you in 2012, my friend.

    Best Wishes
    Seung Kye

Leave a Reply

 
