I Love Colorado

I’ve now been living in Colorado for 2 and ½ years. What a time this has been. They say that only only 2% of people over 50 who lost their jobs in the crash have found work with closely the same salary that they were making pre-crash. Well, I’m one of them. Between that fact and the amazing place where I’m living, my mind is totally blown.

I lived in Northern California for close to 25 years and suddenly I’m in Colorado. I kept thinking “Why am I here?”. Then one morning about a month ago I found myself at Long Lake and I knew why.

I just adore the high country here. The above image is of Mitchell Creek, the run-off from Long Lake at about 10,000 feet. It was taken with my wonderful new D800.

Another place I like to go is the Buchannan Pass Trail. These two images are from there.

I usually try to avoid flare in images and I did my best to block it here with the first one, but I found that I liked the way it turned out anyway.

I hike the trails of Boulder nearly every morning before going to work. The landscape is much less dramatic than the high country, but it has it’s own beauty.

~ by danbaumbach on August 24, 2012.

4 Responses to “I Love Colorado”

  1. Dan,
    I`m so happy for you that you found your place on this earth.
    And, by the look of your photography, it seems like a fantastic and inspiring place to find oneself, for anyone. Very nice to receive your email blog subscription today..couldn`t have started my day off better.

    Wish you peace and happiness, my friend.
    Seung Kye

  2. Glad that you were able to get back up on your feet, Dan. Great shots.

Leave a Reply

 
