My Worship

Lets start out right with it! I don’t worship art!

I said it. I’m a heretic in this crowd. I love making art. I love looking at, reading and listening to art, but I don’t believe art will save the world.

Making art and experiencing art takes us out of ourselves. Out of our Me’s and what we think we need to make ME happy. In that respect it temporarily removes us from what actually is causing us pain and discomfort. It might even get us in touch with that place where happiness exists.

Yes, real happiness is our true nature and sometimes, with some luck, art can help us touch that place.

There are teachers throughout time who have pointed us to this place and there are writings that try to get us to recognize it.

It’s these teachers and teachings that I revere.

You might say making art is my spiritual work. When I am out with a camera or even working at my computer and things are just flowing. I am in that place.

I worship that place.

~ by danbaumbach on February 7, 2016.

4 Responses to “My Worship”

  1. Beautifully said, and greatly appreciated. Thank you.

  2. Sitting in front of that landscape, and melting into it, I feel perfect happiness

Leave a Reply

 
