2015 Favorites

I wasn’t planning on doing a favorites of 2015 post. First, because I’m of the opinion that feeling good or bad over an arbitrary time period is a waste of time. I live my life and create art as best as I can and I assume that my intentions are ultimately realized.

Second, and probably more important, is that I am notoriously bad at choosing photos that I think are good. My favorites are usually what I shot last week. Picking some images objectively takes a much longer time.

Here is an image I shot at the end of may.

I only decided that it may have some merit last month, yet now it’s on my favorites list.

I was feeling pretty negative about my recent images and I decided to give them a look over to see if my opinions were valid. To my pleasant surprise, there were many that I really liked. So, I decided to make a favorites list after all.

I shot mostly abstracts in 2015. I started experimenting with using flash, initially to balance the foreground with a rising sun, but then started using flash with show shutter speeds giving a mixture sharp and blurred. The image below is a good example of this.

I don’t make new years resolutions, but for what it’s worth, I’d like to do more landscapes in 2016. Here’s one of the few landscapes that made my list.

You can see all of my 2015 favorites here.

If you want to keep up with what I’m doing, I have a Dan Baumbach Photography page on Facebook.

~ by danbaumbach on December 29, 2015.

9 Responses to “2015 Favorites”

  1. beautiful choices dan. mallory

  2. Beautiful work, thanks for sharing:) Love “Birds” “So” and “Blizzard”, I’ll have to try the flash and long exposure technique sometime, these images are amazing. Happy New Year!

  3. Beautiful selections, Dan. The image called “Fantastic” stands out as my favorite — when I opened in in the large view, I was lost in the scene. Gorgeous! All the best for 2016.

  4. […] Dan Baumbach – 2015 Favorites […]

  5. Hi Dan! Happy 2016. I’m so glad you decided to post some favorites of last year. I love how your photography has evolved. I think your grass/macro/abstract (have no idea what to call it…) is striking! I think beautiful and outstanding work!

    Images like “So,” “Birds,” “Beside Myself,” and “Fantasy Dream” all strike a chord with me. I would love to learn how to “see” images like these.

    Of course all the images you selected are outstanding.

    thanks for posting! Hope all is well!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.